Building Steam With A Grain Of Salt

(This poem is designed to be read aloud, so it kinda looks a bit fucked up written down, you can’t get the energy and the passion, but you can put that in yourselves)

 

I was trying to build steam with a grain of salt,

Attempting the impossible,

I wanted to know what my soul looked like,

But I felt that who I was, didn’t fill the space of who I was meant to be,

I just wanted you to look at me differently.

Like I was an amputee.

And what I’ve had cut away from me was my expectations,

Because I was supposed to be huge.

I was supposed to be somehow different,

I was supposed to be the first rose ever planted in the desert,

I was supposed to be Neil Armstrong,

I was supposed to be either Ozzy Osborne or Frodo Baggins,

I was supposed to be the first pope with the full body tattoo,

I was supposed to be the first life on another planet,

I was at least supposed to be capable.

If you saw me how I was supposed to be,

The difference between me and the rest of the world would be fucking unbearable.

But I’m incapable.

Because nobody ever pushed me,

Nobody ever PUSHED me,

Nobody ever pushed ME,

And said be something… Bigger,

Be something else,

Be SOMETHING,

Nobody ever told me that I had the power to leave a hole when I withdrew my hand from the Ocean,

Or move a crowd with mere words and play notes on a piano like bullets to your eardrums,

I wonder if the bigger things know how important they are,

Because I’m a mustard seed and nobody expects me to move a mountain,

But I still feel important.

So this is my push, my push to you that you may never get from another human being ever so listen carefully…

I expect a LOT from you.

Don’t be discouraged when you can’t go over one line, because you’ll pass a hundred others learning that you can’t go over one,

Humans being are intrinsically designed to fail, but I believe that you will get up again if you do,

Go to your fridge, get out all your eggs and put them into one basket,

Then try to tell me that you’re incapable,

Focus all your efforts on one task,

I believe that you can do the impossible,

I believe that you can do what I’ve never been able to do,

I BELIEVE that you can build steam with a grain of salt,

Attempt the never before attempted,

Find out what your soul looks like.

And when you get there,

Don’t worry about telling me, cause I promise you, I will notice.

And I know,

You’ll be dearly missed when you’re gone.

One thought on “Building Steam With A Grain Of Salt

Leave a Reply

