I don’t know.

Our moments are walking away from me,

All those memories that aren’t quite memories anymore,

And I wish I could reach into my head

And squeeze them from my brain.

Like as if I could leave our little patch of history in a pool by my feet,

And watch our dirty talk sweep the floor like tiny sand storms.

I wish I could replace our words with silence,

Our touches with atmosphere,

And our love with repulsion but you plucked my soul from my chest and took it with you,

And I spent the night trying to pick my guts up from the concrete.

I wish I could,

But I probably wouldn’t.

On nights like these I get entangled in the nothingness we now own.

All the time we lost and bullshit we gained.

And I don’t know why I even give a fuck.

Leave a Reply

